Volunteer bolg – 6th May – 17th May 2013

group pic
group pic

6 May 2013

I came to Namibia because it is one of the most amazing places in the world. It is such a joy to do something sp rewarding for the farmers whilst at the same time meet new friends for life. WOW! Nothing beats lying in your bed roll having a cup of tea delivered to you and watching the sunrise.

Mattias is such an amazing character who found the elephants for us and was very special! I will always remember my special time in Namibia. It is really like being at home.

Lynne Ferguson

Baby ellie
Baby ellie

 (Emma-Jane Mooney, London, UK)                                   May 6th – 17th 2013

Yes! As Everyone says, you will work hard, meet great people, marvel at the landscape, have laughs and see nature at its untamed best…..BUT – Please remember:

  1. Bumper packs of wet wipes
  2. Leave your attitude at home
  3. in
  4. ENJOY!

(And a head-net might be good, unless you want to be driven crazy by the M-bees in base camp and beyond)

Thank you to everyone I’ve met. You have no idea what these two weeks have meant to me.

EHRA, Hendrik, Matteus, Chris, – I wish you all the very best.

People – book your trip NOW. You will not regret it:)

Elephant tusk hole in water tank
Elephant tusk hole in water tank

 May 5th-18th 2013

My two weeks with EHRA wasn’t just about building walls and tracking elephants. It was much more to do with understanding the relationship between the people of Damaraland and the elephants. Being out on patrol and seeing first hand how damaged the relationship is at times was eye opening. Education is the only way forward otherwise the two will continue to clash. And the elephants will loose! Being part of the team for just a short period of time has given me a unique insight into Africa. Wall building without the mod-cons just shovels and spades is great leveler.

Patrol week is like having your own private safari. Truly amazing, the sights sounds and simplicity is priceless.

Thank you Chris you make it real!!

Mamma Afrika
Mamma Afrika

 Working with EHRA has been all that I expected and nothing that I expected. Before I came I knew that I was going to build walls and see elephants…and not shower!!! But over the past four weeks I have done so much more, from making new friends to learning to cook over an open fire, but most importantly being a part of repairing the strenuous relationship between elephants and the people who live here. I’ve seen the devastation that the elephants can bring, and the anger of the people and I realize that without EHRA these elephants would not be able to exist at all. It is a difficult and continuous battle here which won’t be easily fixed, but to know I have been part of bringing peace to the people and elephants makes having to deal with the stench of 9 other people who haven’t showered for 5 days all the more worth while.

Ida-May Jones (UK)

Mother and Calf
Mother and Calf

 April 8th – 17th

I went to Namibia with the idea to build some walls and see some elephants. But my six weeks with EHRA was so much more than that. I met great people, saw a lot of different and beautiful landscapes, saw all the elephants of Mamma Afrika herd, G6 and Ugab small several times, experienced from nearby how the locals and the government react on elephants. “saved”the burned baby and last it. Learned how to cook on a open fire, watched beautifull sunrises and sunsets and loved sleeping under the stars. It was an wonderfull and impressive experience. Thank you so much, people of EHRA! You are great!

Greetings Maartje (Grasshopper)

From Dutchland

Elephant damage to house
Elephant damage to house

 April 8th – May 17th

Yes it is the 2nd time I am doing this program and it was still amazing. What a great concept. One gives a little and receives a “private safari” with also the insight of day to day struggles the locals have with living with elephants around. The elephant sightings, everyone different. I am certain it won’t be my last time. It certainly has lasting impact on my life.

Ingrid Martin

Melbourne – Australia

Giraffes
Giraffes

Leave a comment